ELIMU Impact Evaluation Centre

ELIMU Impact Evaluation Center opened in 2006 and is a research NGO based in the town of Kianyaga, Central Province, Kenya. Our work includes measuring the practical impact of different poverty alleviation initiatives such as rural electrification, microinsurance and legal aid. Our methodology is centred on the concept of randomized experiments.

This initiative stems from the realization that without a proper counterfactual, it is impossible to ascertain the effect of development aid. By randomly assigning the treatment to a treatment group and comparing it to a control group much like in a randomized drug trial, the problem of the counterfactual is solved and Elimu can discern which development projects are successful and which initiatives are the most cost effective methods to improve living standards.

Matthieu Chemin

Matthieu Chemin is an Associate Professor of Economics at McGill University and has been conducting research in Kenya since 2006. His research focuses on exploring the conditions conducive to economic growth and development, such as the quality of institutions (judiciary), infrastructure (electricity), and markets (credit, insurance, and labor).

Adam Aberra
Project Manager
Dominicah Wawira
Assistant Office Manager
Kennedy Muchira
Field Coordinator
Catherine Wahome
Legal Officer
Eliars Gichobi
Field Officer
Daniel Gichuru
Field Officer
Esther Njeri
Field Officer
Zipporah Mukami
Field Officer
David Gachoki
Field Officer
Former Office Managers
Emma Gilman (2014-2015)
Jonathan Kourgialis (2013-2014)
Etienne Cayer (2012-2013)
Kurtis Lockhart (2011-2012)
Averie Baird (2010-2011)
Ellen Moscoe (2009-2010)

Former Research Interns
Xueyan Yin (2016)
Johanne Lindheim Butenschon (2016)
Trixie Mugisha Birikundavyi (2016)
Beth Burnstein (2016)
Dexter Waters (2015-2016)
Jessye Kilburn (2015)
Stephanie Ambrose (2015)
Miriam Mugo (Legal Advisor, University of Nairobi, 2014)
Ambrose Waigwa (Legal Advisor, Moi University, 2014)
Nicholas Ellery (2014)
Annie Xie (2014)
Daniel Binette (2014)
Julia Bahen (2013)
Tina Hlimi (2013)
Ishani Majumdar (2013)
Diego Pulido-Lema (2013)
Linda Torres Celis (2013)
Nadia Lampkin (2013)
Tom Freeman (2013)
Valentine Rinner (2012)
Kimberley Smith (2012)
Saif Ullah Khan (2012)
Liam Kirwin (2012)
Elise Lepine (2011)
Natalie Chan (2011)
Juan Diego Astudillo (2011)
Harrison Pollock (2011)
Clément Bisserbe (2010)
Raahil Madhok (2010)
Etienne Robitaille (2010)
Joanie Turcot (2010)
Jacob Fox (2009)
Danai Reynolds (2009)
Robin Audy (2008)
Simon Gagnon-Deluguet (2008)
Veronique Russell (2008)
Quentin Lamensch (2008)